May 4, 2024 School Board Election update

DeSoto ISD Board of Trustees Formalizes Election Outcome for Uncontested Seats
Posted on 02/27/2024
This is the image for the news article titled DeSoto ISD Board of Trustees Formalizes Election Outcome for Uncontested Seats


In alignment with standard practices observed by public entities and guided by the Texas Election Code, the DeSoto ISD Board of Trustees, during a special called meeting on Monday, February 26, 2024, formalized the outcome for the upcoming election initially scheduled for May 4, 2024. The board's decision to declare candidates elected for uncontested seats is a reflection of a common procedural response when no opposition is present, ensuring adherence to legal statutes and efficient governance.


This action was taken following the certification that the seats for Place 6 and Place 7 were uncontested, with one candidate remaining for each seat after withdrawals. Under Section 2.053 of the Texas Election Code, the governing body of a political subdivision is authorized to declare such candidates elected, a practice that not only upholds the law but also respects the electoral process's integrity by recognizing clear outcomes in advance.


The decision by the DeSoto ISD Board of Trustees to formalize these results is in keeping with the district's commitment to transparency, fiscal responsibility, and the prudent use of public resources. By avoiding the unnecessary expenditure associated with conducting an uncontested election, the district can allocate those resources to areas that directly benefit students and the community.


The formal declaration and the upcoming installation ceremonies in May for the newly declared trustees, Eboni S. Mitchell for Place 6 and Traci J. McNairy for Place 7, underscore the district's adherence to governance protocols and its dedication to effective leadership. These steps are part of the established process ensuring that DeSoto ISD's governance continues seamlessly and responsively.


The DeSoto ISD Board of Trustees, composed of seven members who serve staggered three-year terms as outlined in DeSoto ISD Policy BBB (Local), remains committed to serving the district's needs while upholding the highest standards of accountability and stewardship.


For more details on the trustees and the board's decision, please visit the following link: